Scary Spam
Friday, July 16th, 2010This is really clever, very scary… I think the spammers will have a good success rate with people clicking on this:
here are the things to watch for:
- I don’t know the “from” person, and “local schools” doesn’t make sense to me (but it might to a lot of students :s)
- I went to laca.org and it wasn’t a real website… didn’t go anywhere.
- online.com? Too generic…
- subject line has a period
- I don’t have a mailbox with 23GB. I Don’t have an account with them.
- NEVER, EVER “click here” to validate a mailbox… or anything that you haven’t specifically requested.
- Other poor grammar towards the end of the email
When you mouse over the “click here” link you see it will go to this URL:
A few red flags here, also:
- the URL doesn’t match the sender (laca.org)…
- the subdomain starts with scripts. … NOT GOOD.
- 4goodhosting.com? Seriously?
- form1.html? Very novice.
This has yellow and red flags all over it – but they’ve done a very good job. PLEASE don’t click on anything that looks like this. Simply delete it (or, if you are on Gmail, report phishing, or report as spam).










